Chronicles of a Solo Adventurer #3 : Novena

Just like Christmas, every Cebuano is anticipating the Sinulog festival or the Feast of the Holy Child every January. It falls on the 3rd Sunday of January and a 9-day novena is offered in preparation for the feast.

Since it was year-end close, January was one of those bad-hair-day months for me. I was extremely busy (which I think has some good points), where I needed to render some over time over a couple of weeks just to meet deadlines. And so, since I am on a midday shift but wanted to attend the novena with ease, I went to a 4am mass every after shift with my officemates.
 
It was my first time to attend to the first mass of the morning kind of novena. It was fulfilling but tiring at thr same time. I think this was due to the fact that I rendered overtime and went straight to church after work.

I actually took a picture of the altar at the church (a bit cliche), however, seems like it was mistakenly deleted. So here’s a pic I got of the sunrise when I went home from church.

image

This picture might not be the best to describe the awe-inspiring sight of the sunrise, but believe me, this sight was incredible when you see it in person.

I love sunrise and sunsets. Well apart from its aeshetic aspects, I love the way it meant to me on a deeper sense of metaphoric description.

14 responses to “Chronicles of a Solo Adventurer #3 : Novena

  1. I thank the Heavens that allow me to indulge this moment of madness to say:

    How I wish I could know you beyond the anonymity of my private admiration of the girl who slowed down time when first I spied silently the beauty majestic in her quiet simplicity. 🙂

    If admiring you from afar be my lot, to the Lord, my person, I keep my trust.

      • How shall I lift the Veil of Secrecy
        From the guarded embrace of my fear?
        No Heracles in my body nor Achilles
        Nor Odysseus for a mind praised
        Praised, perhaps, but yearning

        Ah, what yearning do I seek
        But that what all good men pray
        To look not upon our Narcissus
        But the promise of a true morrow
        In the smiling eyes of beauty majestic

        Let others see the roses that bloom
        In their red and white and fame
        So I may, unperturbed, gaze long
        Into the honest glow oft hidden
        In the Iris that many pass unseen

        How shall I lift the Veil of Secrecy
        From the guarded embrace of my fear?
        O, how I pray that our eyes can meet
        And Olympian courage enchants my heart
        To speak to you now as I am

        A merciful chance I ask, mayhaps
        To banish e’er more
        The fear that enthralls my soul
        And greet you with a proper heart
        That seeks its beauty majestic

        Truly yours, this simple note,
        And a clue I give of me to you:
        Know not I that hope we meet,
        An admirer from aged red
        Now dewdrop greens for diamond lens

        Know not I that hope we meet
        Beyond the Veil of Secrecy
        Guarded well by my fear
        And then I hope to share
        The majestic Glee that crowns your name.

        Wondrous…and I haven’t written a poem this long in years. ^^_

  2. iambidextrous February 12, 2016 at 3:55 am · ·
    Your poem is beautiful. I don’t think i can write one as poetic as this! Haha! Anyhow, I’m still very intrigued by you. ^^

    For reasons unknown, I can’t reply to your reply. Ah well, technical support was never my strong point.

    I’m very pleased (and unofficially swimming in the clouds ^^) to know that you still find me intriguing…and that you find my poem beautiful! 🙂 Then again, I don’t think that’s as enthralling as a musician, writer, poet [for the record, I consider the melody of the music that is you as poetry itself…and it’s already better than what I wrote :)], foodie and a Certified Public Accountant (^^,) sculpted into one exciting statuette of art and brilliance! :)…and I’m going overboard again…apologies.

    Communication through poetic language aside, I really do wish we can meet, perhaps amidst the symphony of one of your musical instruments [normal human translation: May I know when you’re playing and singing next so I can come an see? :)]. Needless to say, I have been long intrigued by you ever since I first saw you here in your old printer office that you left for the new financial one right next door. ^^,

    Yours Truly,

    Ray 🙂

    • Hi Ray,

      Good to know the name behind the enchanting words.
      I can see that you have some bits information about me.
      And yet I don’t have any information about you.
      Shall we balance out the odds here? Haha 🙂

      • Hi Glee,

        I do not mind at all sharing details about who I am and balancing the information between us. 🙂 As I am sure you already know, my name is Ray, born and raised here in Cebu, and I work for Lexmark. I often refer to myself as a geek who loves his video games, writing and fantasy/sci-fi books, passions I share with many of my close friends. I also love good food, grilled and fried meat being my top choices (^^,) with Japanese, Korean and Italian food as my favored cuisine. Of course, Filipino food is there as well. 🙂

        I also like watching movies centering on action, fantasy and comedy. I do watch horror movies but usually with a pillow or a hand covering my eyes (yes, I’ll admit that, embarrassing at it is). The genres mentioned are also my favored genres when I choose what anime to watch with Akazukin Cha Cha holding a very special place in my heart, above even Gensomaden Saiyuki, Vampire Hunter D and Rurouni Kenshin, three of my favorites. 🙂

        Haha! I think I’ll stop here for now or I’ll risk going on and on and on. But yes, I don’t have a problem telling you more about me so feel free to ask away. ^^, And, of course, even if I now a few things about you, I definitely want to get to know you more.

        I very much look forward to getting to you better. ^^,

        Yours Truly,

        Ray 🙂

      • Hi Ray,

        Seems like we have a whole lot in common! ^^
        Hope you wouldn’t mind me asking a couple of questions.

        I’m just wondering if we have already met during my stay in LXK? Are you from LP1, LP2 or LP3?

        😀

  3. Hi Glee,

    I’m glad to know we have a lot in common! 🙂 And of course, I really don’t mind you asking questions.

    No, we really haven’t met, although we have passed by each other and rode the elevator a few times. In fact, me getting out of the elevator and you coming in was the first time I saw you. And yes, that was when you slowed down time for me. ^^,

    That was in LP3 when I was still in GSO. I actually learned your name from my former supervisor when I asked her about the dancing girl in the Lexmark Music Club Fireworks video (yup, I saw that video ^^). She asked her friend from the Music Club for your name and well, the friend gave it to my supervisor who then gave it to me. 🙂

    Right now, I’m a resident of LP1 in SMO enjoying the Australian shift and once or twice, we’ve passed by each other on the street with me heading for Ayala and you going to work. 🙂

    As I said earlier, I do not mind sharing with you information about myself and you are free to ask more (to balance the information gap ^^,) but I am quite curious…are you truly ambidextrous? 🙂 If you don’t mind, I really would like to know more about you too. 🙂

    Truly Yours,

    Ray 🙂

  4. Hi Ray,
    Technically, no. But how I wish though! Hahah! I am a leftie but I can also do stuffs using my right hand, like playing musical instruments and holding a bokken. >__<
    Though for me, I use the term to describe more than being left handed or right handed. Like being at a balance between intellectual and artistic; yin and yang; introversion and extroversion, somewhat like that. I'm not sure if I make sense, or am I just making a simple definition to a complex one? haha ^^

    Shall I just ask you nalang for your full name? If you don't mind me asking. 🙂

    • Hi Glee,

      Ah, and so anonymity ends and to the nightingale of music do I gleefully present my name. 

      Ray Donn M. Lim: RPG geek, self-confessed (with outside confirmation) workaholic and yes, a writer who writes for the leisure of it. ^^,

      Now that you have my name, I was hoping you could give me permission to add you on Facebook. While I like reading your blog, you could say that Facebook messenger would be a better communication tool…although, writing here is not bad at all and I get to follow the Adventures of a Solo Adventurer which is on Episode 4 now, I believe! 🙂

      That request aside, I am quite intrigued that you are a leftie (known to have a really strong affinity towards intelligence and art) who plays musical instruments—and performs a bokken no jutsu: Amakakeru Ryu no Hirameki ^^,—with her right hand! I just read about those people and haven’t really met one.

      And do you know what they call them?

      Ambidextrous. 🙂

      So yes, you really are ambidextrous whilst I am your everyday right-hander. But I must say, your personal definition of ambidexterity is not a complication of a unique and beautiful lifestyle. It is a charming definition, a charming life that many do hope for. 

      And so here I hope for your permission to meet on Facebook where, I suppose, more conversations and discoveries about each other can be made.

      Truly Yours,

      Ray 🙂

  5. Hi Glee,

    Glad to hear it! 😀 I’ll be inviting you on Facebook today. Chat with you there. 🙂

    Truly Yours,

    Ray 🙂

Leave a Reply

